August and September Garden

This post is a little late. August and September seemed to fly by and I can’t believe it’s almost Halloween. We’re still having 80 degree days so I think my mind still believes it’s early September. Despite the balmy late fall temps, I know winter is fast approaching and before the garden has gone to sleep I wanted to do a recap of August and September and some plans for next year.

Here’s the sketch I did of the garden at the start of the growing season.

garden sketch ashandorange.wordpress.comBed 1 was a late bloomer but turned out to be pretty great. The sweet peas I planted never did a whole lot, but a bunch of other things came up. We had a random tomato grow (maybe out of seeds from the compost?). It produced large tomatoes and they were delicious. It still has a couple more green fruit on the plant. I plan to leave them out there until the first frost.

large tomato ashandorange.wordpress.com

Some beautiful white and coral snap dragons also popped up.

Bed 2 has been very productive. Both the Indigo Rose and Grape Tami G tomato plants produced tons of tomatoes (we are still picking them daily). The grape tomatoes are delicious: really sweet and tangy. The Indigo Rose is more of a traditional tomato flavor, in my mind, but also delicious and really pretty.

grape tomato ashandorange.wordpress.com

Grape Tomato

Indigo Rose Tomato

Indigo Rose Tomato

The jalapeno plant produced some delicious and very hot peppers.

And last but not least the zucchini plant has given us more than a dozen great squash.

zucchini plant ashandorange.wordpress.com

Bed 3 has been the herb bed. The basil plants grew like weeds. At some point in September I stopped cutting the flowers off and just let them grow like crazy. They are about 2.5 feet tall right now and still growing. The leaves get bitter when the plant flowers so they have been more ornamental than edible this year.

The thyme also grew really well. The lavender and rosemary didn’t grow much, but also didn’t die, so I’m counting it as a win. I’m going to dig up the rosemary and plant it in a pot inside so I can enjoy it all winter.

Bed 4 was a hodge podge of perennials and volunteers. The sweet peas took off in September and had some gorgeous purple blooms. They looked great with the orangey pink and white snap dragons, blue delphinium, and bright orange marigolds and cosmos.

bed 4 ashandorange.wordpress.comBed 5 has given us tons of kale all summer. The parsley did great in this bed as well. The zucchini never grew. I think too much shade for it.

Bed 6 has a delphinium that bloomed in early July. It has some small shoots blooming again right now. I also transplanted a pink dianthus and it has had some pretty pale pink blooms.

Plans for next year:

This past summer was the most success we have had with the garden, and I learned a lot that I will use planning things out for my 2015 garden.

I want to combine beds 1 and 2 into one large bed. Tomatoes and zucchini do great here and need some more room. I plan on doing 3 tomato plants and one zucchini along the back with pepper plants in front. I also hope to have a better trellis system next year for both the tomatoes and zucchini. The plants got so large this year that the traditional tomato cages were falling over.

I also hope to plant a variety of greens in bed 5 where the kale did so well.

Hope everyone enjoyed following along as the garden grew. Can’t wait till next year!

Here are the links to the previous garden posts: June Garden and July Garden

Leave a Reply

