Art Above the Bed

Add this to the list of things that took way too long to be accomplished…

I have wanted to frame a large print of this beautiful cloud picture for almost a year. As of last week, that task is finally done.

picture above bed ashandorange.wordpress.com

The space above the bed was painfully blank: taupe walls and taupe headboard. I wanted something to contrast with the sea of taupe. I’m lucky to have an amazing pro photographer as a friend and when I saw this beautiful clouds at night shot, I knew it would be perfect for above the bed.

My favorite thing about this photo is you don’t realize it is taken at night until you look deeper and can see the stars dotted along the deep blue sky.

I bought a 20″ x 28″ Ikea Ribba frame and attached the frame to the wall with Command Velcro strips. They are a great tool for old plaster walls or people who like to change art around.

picture above bed ashandorange.wordpress.com

Once the picture was up it read a little small. I find things tend to read much smaller when they are actually up on the wall. This happens a lot to me, but I have yet to learn my lesson. If I did it again, I would get a 20×30 print to take up the entire frame.

A bigger print may be in the future, but for now I love looking up and seeing this beautiful photo above the bed.

Photo: “Friends” by Ryan Dearth. Check out his website for more gorgeous photos.
Frame: Ikea Ribba in white

Leave a Reply

