Club Chair Reupholstery

Last year I picked up a set of club chairs for $40. They were in nice shape (and comfortable!) but I didn’t love the navy, orange and gold fabric. I figured they would be a great introduction to furniture reupholstery. After sitting around the house for a year and a half, I finally got around to reupholstering one of the chairs. Let’s hope it doesn’t take another 18 months to finish the second.

chair before and after ashandorange.wordpress.com

The refinishing and reupholstery process was really straightforward. I first removed the cushions from the wooden frame. They were attached by screws at the bottom. I then removed the cording that was stapled to the frame. The wooden frame was a little scuffed up so I gave it a good scrub with murphy’s oil soap. Followed by a light sanding with fine sand paper. I removed the sanding dust with a microfiber cloth and then used Restore-a-Finish in Walnut over the entire frame. Finishing it all up with my favorite product: Howard Feed-n-Wax.

Once the frame was done I tackled the cushions. Un-upholstering was the worst part of the process. Staples haunted my dreams for a couple nights. I removed the cording first, and then the fabric, finally pulling out any remaining staples with a flathead screwdriver and needle nose pliers.

The original foam was in amazing shape so I did not replace it. The upholstery job was really simple. Basically pulling the fabric tight and stapling. And my fabric choice…canvas drop cloth! What else would I use? I love the texture and color of drop cloth and the fact that it is durable and cheap is just the icing on the cake.

Once the cushions were upholstered I screwed them back into the frame. I chose not to finish the chair with cording yet. I don’t mind the way it looks without it, but adding cording will make it look perfectly finished. The cushions are really easy to remove so I can always add the cording at a later time – when I get the courage to sew it.

reupholstered club chair ashandorange.wordpress.com

reupholstered club chair ashandorange.wordpress.com

reupholstered club chair ashandorange.wordpress.com

The new fabric makes the chairs light and fresh. Now I have to decide if I want to keep them in the office or place them in the living room as pictured above. Decisions, decisions…

3 thoughts on “Club Chair Reupholstery

    • Restore-a-finish is a good quick fix. It just lightly covers areas of wear and tear, but they still show a bit. If you really wanted to restore the finish to a perfect even look I would sand and restain/seal. But if the finish is in pretty good shape, restore-a-finish and feed-n-wax works great. On a couple of mid-century walnut pieces I have used feed-n-wax alone and it’s amazing. Hope that helps!

Leave a Reply

